The steering wheel

16/06/2009 11:56

The steering wheel was grinding whenever I had to put any kind of lock on the wheel. 

 

With the aid of my trusty Haynes manual this turned out to be a really simple job once I managed to get hold of the right size socket for my socket set.  Being an old fashioned kinda girl my socket set is imperial which normally is Ok even though VWs are all metric (being German and all) I don't normally have a problem.  Unfortunately my set stopped just short of the size I needed to fit the retaining bolt in the wheel. 

 

Visited a small auto car parts shop in a nearby town - it is always worth checking these small guys out if you are stuck for tools. Larger outlets like Halfords tend to sell kits which you don't really want to shell out for if you only need one or 2 sockets for a specific job.  Turned out the small shop sold sockets individually so I duly bought 2 metric ones and went home beleiving in my ignorance that I had an adaptor that would turn my imperial size  ratchet into something that could fit the metric socket...wrong!  Subsequent trip to shop and one metric/imperial adaptor, lots of puffing and panting later (men always do everything up sooo tightly!)  I got the wheel off expecting the worst underneath.

 

As luck would have it - all that was needed was a good clean and some good lubrication and the wheel is as good as new.

 

Search site